14th Annual Drexel Corporate Governance Conference


Thursday, 15 April 2021 | 12:00 – 14:20 EDT (18:00 – 20:20 CEST)

Friday, 16 April 2021 | 12:00 – 14:00 EDT (18:00 – 20:00 CEST)

Organised by

Michelle Lowry (Drexel University and ECGI)

About this event

Since 2008, the Annual Corporate Governance Conference at Drexel University, hosted by the Gupta Governance Institute, has highlighted top academic research. The research is accepted for the conference when it is in its early stages and much of it is subsequently published in the most highly regarded research journals. Within a decade, the conference has had 84% of presented papers subsequently published (64% in top 3 journals) and it has become a key event of the finance research calendar.

The conference features theoretical and empirical research related to corporate governance. It includes, but is not restricted to, topics such as Boards of Directors, compensation, shareholder activism, mergers, debt as a form of governance, ESG-related issues, political influences on governance, and more. The programme committee, which includes a number of ECGI Research Members, comprises: Renee Adams; Jeffrey Coles; Diane Del Guerico; David Denis; Diane Denis; Laura Field; Nick Gantchev; Todd Gormley; Tom Griffin; Jarrad Harford; Peter Iliev; Wei Jiang; Dalida Kadyrzanova; Jonathan Karpoff; Nadya Malenko; Kevin Murphy; Lalitha Naveen; Micah Officer; Gordon Phillips; Anil Shivdasani; Anh Tran; Michael S. Weisbach; Jared Wilson; Tracie Woidtke; Yuhai Xuan; Ke Yang; and David L. Yermack.

The conference is organised by Michelle Lowry, TD Bank Endowed Professor of Finance, Academic Director of the Gupta Governance Institute, Associate Editor of the Journal of Financial Economics, and ECGI Research Member. ECGI is honoured to be associated with this event in 2021.

Wharton Research Data Services generously provides sponsorship for the conference, including offering a $1,000 best paper prize which will be voted on during the conference.

Supported by

Click below to visit the conference page