Technology and Corporate Governance

*** Click here to access the detailed summary report***

Hosted by:

The Roundtable focused on the impact of new technologies such as blockchain and AI on corporate governance. The discussion revolved around the following questions: Does blockchain have promise as a tool for registering ownership claims and the exercise of voting rights in listed corporations? What is the impact of AI and big data analysis on firms’ management and governance? Will smart contracts affect the boundaries between firms and markets in a number of industries?


Marco Becht, Solvay Brussels School, ECGI and CEPR

Luca Enriques, University of Oxford and ECGI


15:00     Registration

15:20     Welcome

15:30     Blockchain and Corporate Governance

16:50     Tea/ Coffee break

17:10     AI and Corporate Governance

18:30     Drinks reception

19:00     Ends


Marco Becht ( or

Luca Enriques (

Elaine McPartian (

 Programme Outline: 

15:30 – 16:50: Blockchain and Corporate Governance

Briefing: Christoph Van Der Elst, Tilburg University and ECGI

17:10 – 18:30: AI and corporate Governance

Briefing: John Armour, University of Oxford Faculty of Law and ECGI

Confirmed Participants:

Ms. Lisa Rabbe CEO Stratosphere Adbisors LLC
Dr. Michael Viehs Associate Director, ESG Integration Hermes Investment Management
Prof. Horst Eidenmüller Freshfields Professor of Commercial Law University of Oxford
Mr. David Jackson Company Secretary BP p.l.c.
Mr. John Plender Columnist Financial Times
Mr. Edmund Schuster Associate Professor London School of Economics
Mr. Mike Everett ESG Investment Director Aberdeen Standard Investments
Prof. Franklin Allen Professor of Finance and Economics Imperial College London
Dr. Andrea Zorzi Aggregate professor University of Florence
Mr. James Baird Honorary Professor University of Glasgow
Dr. Cristina Ungureanu Head of Corporate Governance Eurizon Capital
Dr. Anne Lafarre Assistant Professor Tilburg University
Mrs. Tracy Gordon Director Corporate Governance Deloitte
Dr. Marco Claudio Corradi Senior Research Fellow/Lecturer Stockholm University/The University of Oxford
Ms. Nikita Aggarwal Research Associate Oxford Internet Institute / University of Oxford
Mr. Thom Wetzer DPhil Candidate in Law and Finance University of Oxford
Dr. Cristie Ford Professor Allard School of Law, UBC
Prof. Christoph Van Der Elst Professor of Business Law Tilburg University
Prof. John Armour Hogan Lovells Professor of Law and Finance University of Oxford
Prof. Luca Enriques Allen & Overy Professor of Corporate Law University of Oxford
Prof. Marco Becht Professor of Finance Solvay Brussels School
Mr. Peter Montagnon Associate Director Institute of Business Ethics
Mr. George S. Dallas Policy Director International Corporate Governance Network
Mr. Jaime Gornsztejn Director Hermes EOS
Ms. Daniela Weber-Rey Non-executive director (NED) HSBC Trinkaus & Burkhardt and Groupe FNAC DARTY
Dr. Martin Petrin Associate Professor University College London
Mr. Luca Sportelli Associate Cleary Gottlieb
Prof. Patrick Bolton Professor Imperial College London

Click below to visit conference page